Gerber Infantry Knife Review Gerber LMF II Survival Knife

  • Gerber LMF II Review – Best Survival Knife for the Money?
  • Gerber LMF II Knife Field Test
  • Gerber LMF II Survival Knife vs Ka-Bar Becker BK7
  • Breaking Car Windows With The Gerber LMF II – Knife Review By Survival Bros
  • Gerber LMF II Infantry Fixed Blade Value Survival Knife Review
  • Gerber LMFII Survival Knife
  • Episode-5: Gerber LMF II Survival Knife Review
  • Gerber LMF 2 vs. Bear Grylls ultimate survival knife Part 1
  • Gerber LMF II Survival Knife
  • Gerber LMF 2 Survival Knife SPEAR REVIEW
Amazon Price: $79.99 $79.95 You save: $0.04 (%). (as of March 19, 2018 11:40 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Gerber Infantry Knife Review

You don’t have to be caught behind enemy lines to appreciate the intelligent design of Gerber LMF II Survival Knife.  After all, the knife hails from a former military man led the charge to engineer this fearless 10-inch survival knife, and it was field tested with the troops.

Gerber Infantry Knife is as adaptable as the personnel who carry it. Use it to cut through the skin of a fuselage, sever a seat belt or egress through the Plexiglas of a chopper. Plus, the LMF II does a slick job cutting firewood and building shelter. The over-molded handle successfully limits blistering. There is complete separation between the tang and butt cap, so the knife absorbs the shocks from hammering and prevents the shocks of electricity. Smartly situated grooves and lashing holes let the LMF II convert to a spear. The low-profile sheath facilitates movement, limits noise, works for parachuting and attaches to a belt or MOLLE vest. The patented, integrated sharpener means edge retention in the field.

Gerber LMF II Survival Knife

The LMF II Infantry Tactical Knife stainless steel blade and buttcap deliver precision strength.  Gerber Survival Knives sheath features a carbide sharpener and a belt attachment. Strong, Serrated Blade Can Be Used in All Situations

The Gerber 22-01629 LMF II Black Infantry Knife was designed for survival during even the worst conditions. This 10-inch survival knife was engineered by former military man Jeff Freeman and was field-tested with troops, ensuring that it can stand up to rugged, rigorous use and offer high performance under a variety of emergency conditions.  Whether you need to cut firewood, build a shelter, or slice through a seat belt, the Gerber LMF II Survival Knife has you covered. It was designed to adapt to a wide variety of situations, so you’ll never have to worry whether you have the right knife.

Gerber Survival Knives includes: 10-inch serrated knife Pointed stainless steel butt cap Overmolded handle Lashing  holes Sheath with built-in carbide sharpener

Unique Buttcap Can Pierce Glass
In addition to the blade end of the knife, Gerber also gave the LMF II a unique, pointed buttcap that is made of stainless steel. This heavy end can be used to pierce glass in the event you need to egress from a helicopter or other vehicle. The buttcap features a smart design that is physically separated from the tang in order to offer shock absorption when it’s used as a hammer and also to prevent electrical shock.

Smart, Versatile, Comfortable Design

Gerber LMF II Survival Knife features an overmolded handle, which helps prevent hand blisters and provides a secure grip. It is also designed with lashing holes, allowing it to be converted into a spear and extending its usability. The black color keeps you inconspicuous while you are out on night-time missions.

Gerber Knife Sheath Included with Built-In Sharpener
A low-profile sheath is included and it features a built-in carbide sharpener. The stainless steel blade can withstand a ton of abuse, but if it ever gets damaged or needs sharpening, you won’t be stuck out in the open with a dull knife. Gerber LMF II sheath facilitates movement and attaches to a belt or MOLLE vest.

Gerber Knives History of Ingenuity
Savvy. Moxie. Craftsmanship. Attention to detail. These are just a few of the company traits that contributed to Gerber’s emergence as a world leader in outdoor gear. Joseph Gerber started Portland, Oregon’s Gerber Advertising back in 1910, and one Christmas, he hired a local knife-maker to craft 25 sets of kitchen cutlery as client gifts. The knives were so popular, Mr. Gerber ultimately left his agency to launch Gerber Legendary Blades in 1939.Find out more at Gerber Knives Company Home Page

For more than half a century, Gerber Legendary Blades has been helping people fend for themselves. Gerber Knives designs popular, dependable tools and knives along with other outdoor gear that helps users accomplish whatever tasks they may be faced with, promoting the lost art of self-reliance.

Gerber LMF 2 Specs
Gerber 22-01629 LMF II Black Infantry Knife with 4.8-Inch Blade, Gerber Knife Sheath, Lifetime Gerber Knife Warranty

Customer Reviews

Knife or Wife?

219 people found this helpful.
 on June 11, 2015
By barret brewster
I bought this knife six years ago. With a fishing pole, kayak, and this knife I hunted multiple 9+ foot alligators. It takes a lot to kill an alligator and this knife brought every bit of it. I have killed and cleaned yellow fin tuna out of Orange Beach, Alabama with this knife. It has followed me through most of the states, half Europe, most the Caribbean, Canada, and all of Central America. It has been through fresh water, salt water, marshes and swamps. I have used it as a dive knife, spear head, hammer, and axe. It has been on sport fishing yachts, sailboats, and kayaks. It has opened countless beer bottles, cut bikini straps, and scared away larger men. Today I got it out to, for the first time in six years, put an actual effort into sharpening it. I realized how sharp it still was. This thing has been beaten to hell and back, cut more things than the sword of a crusader and it was still sharp. It has served me, fed me, protected me, amused me, and shared more adventures with me than my closest of friends. This is more than a knife, it is a life partner.

Absolutely terrific fixed-blade tactical knife with some great design choices!!

16 people found this helpful.
 on March 17, 2017
By David B Hunter
The Gerber LMF is a terrific fixed-blade knife. The 420HC steel that Gerber uses is very strong and capable. Holds an edge well. Do not let the nay-sayers steer you wrong. The steel Gerber uses is good stuff. Also – don’t be fooled. A serrated blade can indeed be strong, durable and have the ability to feather wood if designed properly. This Gerber has that in spades.


4 people found this helpful.
 on May 15, 2016
By Paul Morgan
This is an excellent knife. Do not mistake cost and quality. No this knife does not cost $300.00. But it out preforms many that do. This is one very tough knife with some excellent features. It also comes with a very nice tactical carrying rig. However, if that does not suit you, it can simply be carried on you belt in the most typical way. The steel is hard enough to preform very well, yet it sharpens easily. It will make a spark against a ferro rod and very hard rocks. as it is carbon based steel. It has both strait edge and a small serrated edge part. The handle is extremely comfortable. It has holes that make it easy to make it a spear with some cordage. The back of the handle can be used as a window breaker, to crack nuts or coconuts or as a combat tool if needed. There is a separation in the rear of the tang that makes it safe to strike electronics without being electrocuted (If you chose to do this you should seek training on other Personal Protective Equipment that is needed to do this safely) As many fixed blade knives as I have, and that is a great many, I have two of these and if I could only have one fixed blade survival knife this is the one I would pick time and time again! I keep one out that I use and another in a bug-out bag. I like it so much, I am considering buying a 3rd!


4 people found this helpful.
 on May 3, 2016
By Astrodinosaur
I haven’t had a chance to put this knife under any heavy use yet, but I have put it through some light work as well as knife drills, and so far I’m pretty impressed. The quality of construction is immediately evident, and while the knife isn’t full tang (there’s a slight gap between the handle portion of the blade and the butt/glass breaker to allow cutting of live electrical wires with the blade without charging the butt and endangering the user) I went ahead and put it under a heavy amount of side to side stress and used the back of the blade to pound in some tent stakes and noticed no difference in its performance versus a full tang blade. The knife connoisseur in me was highly skeptical of Gerber’s insistence that the knife would perform as well as if it were full tang, but after trying to prove them wrong I have to say I’m almost convinced. I’m confident enough to make it my main field knife and see if it lives up to my newfound expectations.

An amazing blade

3 people found this helpful.
 on March 19, 2016
By Soulless Saint
I was considering giving this a 4 star rating, as there is one issue I’ve had consistently with this knife. As much as I love the sheath, its a bit overkill to have two straps to secure the knife, especially when the retention of the sheath itself is good enough to hold it from a tornado. I’ve noticed the lower of the two security straps often gets in the way of me getting the blade back into the sheath in a smooth and timely manor. I’ve considered just cutting that snap strap off, but I’d rather not have to permanently alter my gear. But, considering that’s just an issue with me and not the knife I didn’t want to hold that against its score. Overall the balance of the blade is a little back heavy, but that’s ok, this is a multi-purpose knife, not strictly a fighting blade. It is razor sharp and the serrated teeth bite hard. The one thing that threw me off was when I first took the knife out of the package there was a big sticker that said made in china. I instantly started to look over the knife, as one of the reasons I bought it was because it was made in the states. Nothing shouted “china” to me as I examined the knife and sheath. I picked this up for almost half the price versus my local outdoors shop.

A superb yet strangely misunderstood survival knife

5 people found this helpful.
 on September 25, 2014
By Skill-Master
I remember the first Gerber knife I had. It was an old lock blade knife, pretty decent. After that knife, I kinda forgot about Gerber. Then, the Gerber LMF II came out. Before that, I didn’t really understand Gerber’s work, too artsy, too intellectual, but when the LMF II came out, I think Gerber really came into their own, commercially and artistically. Then, Gerber came out with the Bear Grylls line of knives, and I thought that Gerber was becoming too commercial, and therefore more satisfying in a narrower way. With the Gerber LMF II, they seemed to reach their summit of top of the line production. I don’t think a lot of people understand the LMF II very well. People tend to think that it should be a batoning beast, and while it certainly can baton, this is a survival knife that is designed for specific situations. The rubberized grip is excellent and very ergonomic. The tang of the knife is almost full, but not quite. The pommel of the knife is akin to a glass breaker, and the tang is actually separated by a rubber spacer that limits shock and vibration to the knife.

I’d buy it again, great knife

One person found this helpful.
 on May 26, 2017
By James M.
I bought the Gerber lmf II survival knife, strong arm, and prodigy survival knifes for several of my bug out/get home bags. Now I use each and every item before I review it and this knife has exceeded my expectations and came in handy more times than I can count on my Memorial Day vacation at the outer banks.

A solid value, and awesome knife

2 people found this helpful.
 on October 6, 2016
By G-money
This knife speaks for itself, and many other reviewers have given it the high praise it deserves. I’ve taken mine camping with much luck, etc. It’s an honest tool. The point I want to make is about the totally reasonable price. I just bought my second, to replace my misplaced first bought (that’s a mouthful) and I think the price has gone down!! When does that ever happen? Thank you Gerber!! For the same price as a take-out dinner or couple of pizzas you can own a legacy, made in USA, premium knife. I say tack $25 onto the price and contribute the proceeds to a suitable Veterans charity. I’d be more than happy to.

LMFII Highly Recommended . Made to last !

3 people found this helpful.
 on January 2, 2017
By kayliegh
Got this knife for post i work at . Arrived in hard plastic packaging came with everything . Strong molle setup for attaching various ways . Knife is thick and comes sharp . If you want a drop leg setup you need a Molle Leg Extender piece. Knife fits in Kydex holster securely . LMFII dwarfs other knives letting you know its intended for combat and survival use . I recommend this knife !

sheath remedy

One person found this helpful.
 on November 16, 2015
By Blade Hunter
I received the LMF II today. I have not yet had the chance to put it to use, so this will be my first impressions. I do own a Gerber Bear Grylls I received as a gift ( I know….) and I have used it. It is a smaller knife and the sheath is similar. It has performed well and I have no complaints. I carry it everyday. The BG was one reason I bought the LMF II.